The Bible’s Teaching About Babies

A few years ago, the man who was then President of the United States, Bill Clinton, was quoted as saying that he had read the Bible and could not find in it where it said that unborn babies were persons, or were people in the sense of having the same type of life that the rest of us have. I leave Mr. Clinton’s politics to the historians, but his Bible reading is something about which I can comment. A few passages will suffice.

  • Psalm 22:10 says “from my mother’s womb you have been my God.” Therefore God is the God of unborn babies.
  • Psalm 71:6 says “Upon you I have leaned from before my birth; you are he who took me from my mother’s womb.” Therefore babies can know God from before birth, and God takes the babies from the womb.
  • Psalm 139:13 says that God “knitted me together in my mother’s womb.” Therefore God puts babies together before they are born.
  • In Exodus 34:19 God says “All that open the womb are mine.” Therefore the babies that come from the womb are owned by God, not man.
  • In Isaiah 49:4, the prophet says that God had a plan for his life from before he was born.
  • Jeremiah 1:5 says the same thing, where God tells Jeremiah  “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” Therefore God had a purpose for these men while they were still unborn.
  • Genesis 29:31 and 30:22 speaks of God ‘opening the wombs’ of Leah and Rachel. However, in Genesis 20:18 and 1 Samuel 1:5, God closed the wombs of other people. Therefore God is the one who has control over whether people have children or not.
  • In Luke 1:44, John the Baptist experiences emotions while still in the womb of his mother.
  • In Exodus 21:22-23, the punishment for killing an unborn baby is the same as that for killing a fully-developed man.

There are many other passages, of course. But these are sufficient to show the Biblical position of babies. God controls whether people get pregnant or not, God knows the unborn, has a plan for them, and protects them with His laws. Unborn babies experience emotions.

Now whether Bill Clinton really studied his Bible or not, I have no idea. But I cannot for the life of me know how anyone could read these verses and claim to hold a reverence for the Bible, yet hold the moral positions that he did.

About humblesmith

Christian Apologist & Philosopher
This entry was posted in Bible, Culture, Government, Morality, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bible’s Teaching About Babies

  1. Seth says:

    I wasn’t aware of Exodus 21:23. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

