For The Record: What If Mohammed Had Never Been Born?

About humblesmith

Christian Apologist & Philosopher
This entry was posted in Culture. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to For The Record: What If Mohammed Had Never Been Born?

  1. Portal says:

    Really find this guys attitude in this video frustrating. He really is making some huge assumptions based on his bias on Islam. Surely there is a better way of sharing; this just came off to me as arrogant.

  2. Portal says:

    Hi, I just wanted to ask you if you actually believe all the assumptions this video claims?

    According to this video if Muhammad had never been born there would be

    1:59 – There would be no nuclear Iran??

    2:41 –The world would be be infinetly more peaceful and kind? (Same could be said for any number of extremist organisations)

    2:57 – there would be no organised terrorism? (come on, really?!)

    3:25 – Wouldn’t have snipers? (In Iraq that is, I think that was where he was referring to).

    Was this video posted to stimulate conversation, or do you hold these beliefs yourself?

    strip away this videos music track and animations, your left with a few interesting observations, but they are largely outnumbered by empty assumptions that are not backed up on evidence.

    I realise that you do have limited time, and I assume you also are working and have a life outside of this blog J

    So I can understand if you don’t have the time to post an answer for this.

    But I would be interested to know: Have you done a background check on this guy, or the organisation he represents?

    What you post on your blog is your business of course J

    But unless you provide a caption explaining why you posted something, some people who visit this blog may just assume you are posting this because you support its content.

    This could put them off of looking at your other posts,

    which I think would be a real shame, since I honestly think many of your posts address big issues in an open and thoughtful way.

    I believe your blog in general is a valuable contribution to public forums and a sharing of values in a thoughtful way. It seems apparent to me that you do take the time to respond and get involved in a serious dialogue about faith and Christianity. That’s why I share this site with my friends.

    When I come across a video like this I am surprised. When actually watching this video, (and compare it with the content of this guys other videos) I now believe that the content is built mainly on quite disturbing assumptions. After watching a few of these, I partly found them hilarious because some the claims they made, but on a more serious note it was disturbing.

    In some of these other videos he merely puts labels on individuals and ridicules them.

    I think it’s important to consider the source and intension of a video, beyond its music, this video may raise a few interesting observations, but these observations are saturated in ridicules and a cynicism that provides little basis for encouragement for people to engage in open conversation (for further evidence of this watch some of the other videos this guy has been involved in).

    • humblesmith says:

      While I don’t agree with everything this man is saying, and if it were just me, I’d leave out the politics. But what interests me the most is the approach and style. For a very long time Christian apologists and philosophers have had solid answers, but look bad in discussions due to trying to be nice. Eventually you should expect more Christians to borrow these techniques mor often.

      Overall he’s about 80 percent correct.

  3. Portal says:

    Here’s some opinions regarding this guy, decide for yourself :)

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/terry-krepel/who-is-molotov-mitchell_b_476952.html

  4. Portal says:

    I think that as Christians we should be prepared to conduct ourelves (not that I do this perfectly) in a manner that encourages open conversation on matters of faith. This should be done in a caring way I think. The question is: What was the intension of this video? was it shared in a caring and genuine way? To merely “splatter” generalisations (yes, Im using loaded language here) in an entertaining video can only carry so far. Do you think these techniques encourage people to turn to God? Do they leave room for conversation, for interaction and witness? If all Christians adopted techniques like this to promote faith we would risk shutting ourselves off to meaningful dialogue. I believe the closed attitude of, “Were right! your wrong!” and to focus only on negative impact without acknowledging the qualities of a individual is not an honest, and therefore not a truly Christian act. Can this technique encourage people to turn to Christ? The Sprinkling of loop tracks and animations doesn’t redeem the assumptions it makes and the negative focus with acknowledging any other realities. My assumption I hold is that not all Moslems are monsters or terrorists, I can back that assumption up through personal experience, since I have friends who are Moslems who are kind and caring. This doesn’t mean I agree with what they believe. Making broad assumptions about any people group risks closing oppourtunities to engage with those people.

Leave a Reply

